The Revolution of the Constitution

Signing the Constitution
The Constitution offered many reforms to the Articles of Confederation. It created a completely new government for the United States, one never before seen in history. Employing a mixture of centralized government and dispersed state power, the Constitution created a new kind of republic, the compound republic.

Included in the Constitution were many changes to the power structure of the United States Government. The Constitution Created a government where power was decentralized and dispersed to three branches of government:
  • Executive Branch
  • Legislative Branch
  • Judicial Branch
The Constitution also drastically changed the powers afforded to the states. These changes created the framework for the union that still persists today.
Back to Republican Problem                                                                                                              Go to Branches and State Powers